Happy Birthday

4 Jun

BirthdayToday is my youngest child’s birthday. It’s her last birthday in the single digits. 🙂 It’s also another birthday of sorts. My first Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense, Plain Pursuit, has an official paperback release of June 4th! It seems fitting somehow. And my beautiful daughter is excited that Harlequin chose her birthday to release my book.

It’s been a long road to publication. When I first decided to write a romance novel, I decided I wanted to have my name on the cover of a Harlequin. This was in the days before eBooks became popular. Yet, even as the popularity of eBooks exploded, I was still determined to sell to Harlequin. I am nothing if not determined.

A good friend of mine who also happened to be a writer sent me a lovely e-mail after yet another rejection from Harlequin. The editor had wonderful things to say, but she still passed on my book. I felt like I had hit a wall. My friend wrote:

If an editor said “I’m eager to get her under contract” I would have swooned. Do people still swoon? You’ve got it, kid. Don’t give up. At the very least, what a model for your kids on what it takes to succeed. Am I blowing smoke up your derriere? Nope. Close only counts when people use it as an excuse to bow out. Look at the many writers who struggled. I’m talking good writers who managed to believe in themselves no matter what. There are too many fools out there who make it because they are blind to their own BS. You just need to find your own unique voice, blend it to the “smooth, clean writing style.”

That e-mail is still in my inbox. It’s dated March 2009.  With my friend’s encouragement, I plowed ahead.

And then finally I had success. In the summer of 2011, I sold two books, Random Acts and Too Close to Home to the fabulous Samhain Publishing. I learned that sometimes dreams can be realized in unexpected ways.

I continued to write and in July 2012, I got “the call” from Harlequin.  My original goal achieved! Today, I can hold my first Harlequin Love Inspired Suspense, Plain Pursuit,  in my hand. In the dedication I wrote, in part, to my four children:

If you want something badly enough and you’re willing to word hard, dreams can come true. Thanks for helping me make my dream come true.

I hope I have taught my children something about perseverance and hard work.  I hope they have big dreams and are open to new, unexpected opportunities. I hope they never give up when success is almost within reach.

Happy Birthday, little one. May all your dreams come true.

~Alison Stone

One Response to “Happy Birthday”

  1. Olga July 17, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    Thank you for sharing, Alison! I’m glad you persevered. Plain Pursuit is a great book!

Leave a Reply

