Motivational Monday ~ Going Back in Time

4 Feb
My alma mater. Isn't it a gorgeous building?

My alma mater. Isn’t it a gorgeous building?

On Friday, I had the pleasure of speaking at my alma mater’s Career Day. This wasn’t the first time. Over the twenty-five years since I graduated (you do the math!), I’ve spoken twice about my career in engineering and twice about my new career as a writer.

My parents made huge sacrifices for me and my 4 siblings. We all attended private Catholic schools. When I walk back into the building, it looks the same, it smells the same, it feels the same. Stepping through the large wooden doors transports me back in time. I am once again the insecure fourteen-year-old who went from a teeny-tiny elementary school to a new school where I hardly knew anyone. Over the course of four years, I grew into a young woman ready to take on the world. Or so I thought.

Flash forward more than two decades later and I’m still trying to figure things out. As I stood in front of the class and talked about writing as a career, I stressed more than anything that, God willing, life is long. You will make many choices. Some good. Some bad. But don’t be afraid to make changes, to follow your passion, and to take advantage of all the opportunities that lie ahead.

I love the expression, “Youth is wasted on the young.” I don’t think they realize how fortunate they are. They can still carve out their futures. They have so many choices! Then I take a step back and remind myself that we all have choices. No matter our age, we can all take steps to move in the direction in which we want to live.

If you could go back to your 18-year-old self, what would you tell yourself? I think I’d tell myself to relax. To enjoy the journey. It’s the same message I remind myself of today!

Cheers,

Alison Stone

4 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Going Back in Time”

  1. thejoysofwriting February 4, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    The cool thing is now that we’re, ahem, older, we have more resources to throw behind those choices – which are, hopefully, better and more informed than back then. Nice post!

    • Alison Stone February 5, 2013 at 5:30 am #

      Having more resources is fantastic. But with youth, you have less responsibilities allowing you to pursue different choices. In the end, I think we all have to find our own path (no matter what some lady tells them at career day!) 😀

  2. Cheyenne Campbell February 5, 2013 at 4:18 am #

    There are so many things I’d love to tell my younger self. Don’t worry so much about what others think. Stop comparing yourself. And probably the hardest one, for pete’s sake, learn how to balance long-term thinking with enjoying every day. Because I spend a bit too much time on the former and, well, basically no time on the latter!

    Great post. I’d love to go back inside my old school, if only to exorcise some demons! I’m pretty sure it’s changed nearly beyond recognition now though. I bet speaking to a class about your career has got to be a pretty great feeling 🙂

    • Alison Stone February 5, 2013 at 5:32 am #

      I need to learn how to enjoy “every day” too. It’s hard when we have so many dreams for the future. But all we have is NOW, right?

      It is fun to go back and chat with the girls. It’s even crazier to have some of the same teachers in the building. 🙂

Leave a Reply

