Motivational Monday ~ Visualization

21 Jan

The Secret website has this to say about visualization:

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

Law of attraction is forming your entire life experience and it is doing that through your thoughts. When you are visualizing, you are emitting a powerful frequency out into the Universe.

Even before The Secret became a huge bestseller, a writing mentor told me to “see my success.” She suggested I create a faux book cover with my name on it to SEE what it would be like to have a book with my name on it. The idea was that it would motivate me to work toward that goal.

Well, I never did take the time to create that book cover, but last week, my first book (in print) arrived in the mail. When I pulled out the sleek, shiny new book, I thought about my old writing mentor. She was right. It did feel awesome to have my name on a book. If I had taken her advice and visualized my success in a very tangible manner (by creating a book cover), would I have achieved success sooner? No one really knows. But one thing I do know: every time I pass the dining room table with my books stacked up neatly on the corner I get excited. Excited to share my book with those who prefer print. Excited to see the product of all my hard work. Excited to get to work on the next book.

Do you believe in the power of visualization? I’d love to hear from you.

Cheers,

Alison Stone

7 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Visualization”

  1. Cheyenne Campbell January 21, 2013 at 6:07 am #

    I’ve read this in many motivational books (obviously none more so than The Secret!) and I think there is something to it, if only because the more you picture it, the more motivation you’ll have, and maybe even boost your belief that it *can* happen. Either way, I think it’s worth a try (which is why I just Photoshopped a quick cover that has made me pretty giddy, btw 😉

    • Alison Stone January 21, 2013 at 6:09 am #

      That’s awesome. I thought about doing it many times over the years. Regardless of how we achieve it, I think the most important thing to maintain is a sense of hope. 🙂

      • Cheyenne Campbell January 29, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

        I did it – made a faux “cover” for my current completed ms and I have to say, been the best week so far as far as feedback 😀 No complaints here!

      • Alison Stone January 29, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

        Awesome! So glad to hear you’re having a great week. Mine isn’t so bad either. 😀

  2. Jamie Dement (LadyJai) January 21, 2013 at 6:21 am #

    Oh wow! That is definitely awesome advice! I do believe I am a visual learner. Meaning I cannot be read to. I have to read it myself to comprehend. I tune out other people talking. If they try to show me how things are done, I just can’t understand it until I do it for myself. I think the idea of putting a cover to your novel is awesome. One day, I will get there 🙂

    • Alison Stone January 21, 2013 at 6:30 am #

      I am also a visual learner. I had a conversation yesterday with my daughter. I told her if someone tells me their name, I forget it. However, if we’re at an event and someone has a name tag on, I remember the name. Part of it might be the repetition of seeing it on the tag, but I think a bigger part of it is actually SEEING the name and not just hearing it.

      Now go make that faux book cover!

  3. Jessica Topper January 21, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    I agree, a faux cover could be a good tool to motivate – but a real cover? VALIDATION! Knowing that behind that cover lies pages of your original words and hard work must be an incredible feeling. Congrats, it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

