Motivational Monday ~ It’s a brand new year! Rise and shine!

7 Jan

Happy 2013! There’s nothing better than a clean slate, even if only in our minds. 🙂 

100_7657Okay, I’m trying something new. Something I hate doing, but love having done. Something I have failed at doing over and over again. Are you wondering what I’m talking about?

Getting up early!

Okay, technically, I already do get up early. I need to roll out of bed by 7 am if I hope to get the high school kids to school on time. My goal is to get up an hour earlier to get some words in before my day gets away from me.

Have I mentioned how much I love my sleep? Have I mentioned how dark it is at 6 am in the winter? Oh, and my bed is so cozy warm.

Years ago, when I worked in the corporate world, I had to get up at 5:45 am to get to the office by 7 am. But it’s so easy to get used to “sleeping in.”

I am determined to do it this time. This morning I did it and edited 10 pages before I headed downstairs. I love that sense of accomplishment. I need to hold onto that feeling and remind myself of it when I want to slam off the alarm and pull the covers over my head.

I’ve always been envious of early risers. Are you an early riser? Any suggestions for a night owl who’s determined to change her ways? I’d love to hear from you.

One disclaimer: if I am on vacation in a sunny climate, I can always get out of bed early. See the photo. It’s proof.  It’s this winter hibernation thing that’s doing me in.

Here’s to a happy, healthy new year ~ and to early risers.

Cheers,

Alison

6 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ It’s a brand new year! Rise and shine!”

  1. Julie Jarnagin January 7, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    I’m an early riser. 5am. I think the biggest trick for me is getting up at the same time every day – even weekends. I kind of had to retrain my body to follow the new schedule. The other tricks are getting to bed earlier, moving the alarm clock to the other side of the room, and fooling myself into getting up. I tell myself that if I still want to go back to bed after I brush my teeth, I can. By that time, I’m usually awake enough to want to stay up. Good luck!

    • Alison Stone January 9, 2013 at 6:15 am #

      5 am is incredible. Thanks for the tips. A lifetime ago I was a supervisor in a manufacturing setting. I had to be at the plant (a thirty minute drive) to start the shift at 6 am. I remember looking at the clock at 8 am and thinking, man, I’ve been here for 2 hours already. I went home and fell to the floor exhausted. 🙂

  2. Cheyenne Campbell January 8, 2013 at 4:02 am #

    I have always been a night owl. Getting up early is torture to me! Like you, though, if I’m on holiday, travelling, visiting relatives or friends, I can wake up at the crack of dawn, but for the majority of days I find it nearly impossible. This is mostly caused by the fact that my preferred time for reading is in bed, and I can sometimes be reading until 3-4 in the morning. Even if I’ve been sleepy since 8pm, when about midnight rolls around my mind seems to be most alert. Not cool!!

    It’s all about getting to bed by about 10:30 for me, but it’s so hard to break out of that cycle. I’ve never been the sort who can just say, “Right, it’s time for sleep now,” and go to sleep. I wish I knew how! I envy your early morning progress and might try to do the same… tomorrow 😀

    • Alison Stone January 9, 2013 at 6:13 am #

      I can relate to “early is torture.” 🙂 I’m really trying to create a new routine.

  3. Jessica Topper January 9, 2013 at 4:24 am #

    I’m an early bird, although I can burn the midnight oil when I need to! My early waking tendencies come from an internal alarm clock – usually I wake up around the same time, regardless if my “external” clock is set. My biggest motivation is my first cup of coffee. Some nights, I am excited to go to sleep just so I can wake up and have it. (Is that an addiction or what?) But I love, like you mentioned, that feeling of accomplishment so early in the day before all the chaos starts. Even if I just get one hour of writing in.

    I think if you can still do it during the “gloomy” time of year, it will be a breeze once the sun starts to shine again!

    • Alison Stone January 9, 2013 at 6:12 am #

      Warm weather makes it soooo much easier to roll out of bed. I’m trying. I’m trying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

