Motivational Monday ~ Pastimes from Childhood

19 Nov

Jacob’s Ladder

The other day I was sitting on my bed with my laptop and my daughter came into the room. This is a regular occurrence.  I go upstairs to get out of the way and everyone knows where to find me. (Truth be told, I wouldn’t have it any other way.)

Anyway, that day she had green yarn around her fingers and she was telling me about something she had learned on the bus. She manipulated the loop of yarn with her fingers and ta-dah, there was a witch’s broom…and then cat’s whiskers. I couldn’t help but smile. My childhood friend and I had spend hours playing games with yarn. So, I showed my daughter some more moves she could do alone or with her sister. (The awesome big sister that she is, she quickly helped her little sister make her own loop of yarn.)

The one thing I couldn’t remember how to make was Jacob’s Ladder. That was my most challenging string creation of my youth. Thank goodness for Google. (We didn’t have that in the 70s otherwise I probably would have graduated beyond Jacob’s Ladder. :))  Before long, big and little sister where twisting their fingers and the yarn to create Jacob’s Ladder. Part of me wonders why it took a girl on the bus to introduce my daughter to one of my favorite childhood pastimes.

I haven’t been a total slacker mom. I’ve introduced them to my love of Lego’s, knitting on a loom, and writing stories, just to name a

Shoes made out of duct tape!

few things.  They’ve introduced me to the world of duct tape (if you have a child, you already know about duct tape), jewelry making, and dance.

I used to love to do cross-stitch. On occasion, I would draw. I was better at cross-stitch than drawing. After remembering the hours I could get lost in creating Jacob’s Ladder, I wondered if I should take up a hobby again. Maybe it would fill the creative well when it came to my writing.

Do you have any hobbies? Have you shared them with your children? What are your favorite pastimes? I’d love to hear from you in the comments section.

Cheers,

Alison Stone

 

2 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Pastimes from Childhood”

  1. Shari Ahlers November 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I loved playing with the yarn when I was a kid too! We also love making potholders with the loom. A favorite best friend or sister activity is the chants with hand smacking. Remember Miss Mary had a steamboat?

    • Alison Stone November 19, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      How could I forget about pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake baker’s man…Or remember “That’s the way, uh-huh I like it..” while slapping hands? Good times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

