Motivational Monday ~ Self Doubt

29 Oct

Last night I finally, FINALLY, finished my next manuscript. However, if you’re a writer, no manuscript is ever truly done, right? But I finally did get all the scenes on paper. It will need another tweak before I send it off to my agent, but I did reach the end. Finally. Did I say that already?

The initial euphoria was quickly replaced by doubt.

Oh, the ending probably sucks

The villain’s motivation isn’t clear enough.

I’ll never sell another book.

You know, the usual doubts. Then this morning, a tweet popped up on my Twitter feed from a very prolific and multi-published author. She was breathing a sigh of relief because her editor had accepted her next proposal. Apparently, self-doubt doesn’t end. So, I did a search this morning for other blogs on self-doubt and this is what I found:

  • Writer Kelly Leiter wrote a wonderful post on “Overcoming Self-Doubt” on her blog The Beginning Writer.  This part really resonated with me: “You know why there are so many quotes out there about being your own worst enemy and blocking your own road to success? Because they are all true. Everyone doubts themselves. Everyone questions their own abilities. It’s when you indulge in those negative thoughts that the real problem starts.”
  • C.C. Hunter wrote a wonderful guest post on Writer’s Digest recently on “How to Conquer Self Doubt and Just Write.” In it, she writes, “I think self doubt is something most writers face throughout their careers. And by careers, I don’t mean from the point that you become a published author, I mean, from the point you start writing. I think the inability to fight the gremlin is one of the biggest things that prevent a writer from becoming published. And it’s probably one of the reasons published writers stop writing. That’s right, this monster doesn’t care what you’ve accomplished. All he wants is a big bite out of your confidence.” 
  • Here is a great post by New York Times Bestselling Author Cindy Gerard about self-doubt. Click here.

I’m not alone. Even the best of ’em have to shake self-doubt.  Time to get back to work!

How do you get over self-doubts?

Cheers,

Alison Stone

2 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Self Doubt”

  1. juliejarnagin October 30, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    Thank you for all the great links! Congrats on finishing the manuscript.

    • Alison Stone October 30, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      Thanks! Hoping I can give it a little rest, go back in for a final edit and submit.

      Alison

Leave a Reply

