Motivational Monday ~ A Feeling of Accomplishment

15 Oct

Writing can be a tough gig. It’s a solitary profession and I don’t get a lot of immediate gratification from it. It’s all long-term. Word by word, paragraph by paragraph until I have a completed manuscript. I do get a lot of satisfaction out of hitting send (to my agent or editor), but then it’s back to waiting.

Friday afternoon I found myself very fidgety at the computer. I am one of the fortunate ones that calls writing my full-time job. (Well, between raising four kids. :)) However, I sometimes find myself stuck. That’s where I was on Friday. I realized I needed a sense of accomplishment in something….ANYTHING.  I don’t believe I’m alone in my thinking. I’ve joked with other writers that we’ve actually cleaned the bathroom just to get a visual sense of accomplishment. Hey, the fact that it needed done anyway makes it all good.

So, this weekend I took my girls shopping for much needed fall clothes. We  went through some hand-me-downs to see what fit. We picked up a pizza and spend the evening with Grammy. I did my grocery shopping for the week. Went to see a fun movie. A soup I made last night is sitting on the stove all ready for Monday’s dinner. Ah…a sense of accomplishment.

Sometimes it helps to look at the book covers from my previous books to remember that YES! I can do this.

My current work in progress isn’t any further than where I left it Friday afternoon, but I needed a little break. Recharge the batteries.

What have you done to feel a sense of accomplishment? I’m thinking of taking up a hobby to mix it up a bit. I used to do cross-stitch. Hmmm? Any suggestions? I’d love to hear from you in the comments section.

Happy Monday!

Cheers,

Alison Stone

2 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ A Feeling of Accomplishment”

  1. Amanda Usen October 15, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    I clean off the dining room table…where all less-than-semi-urgent things go to die!

  2. Cheyenne Campbell October 17, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    I agree that having unrelated things to accomplish really helps when it’s difficult to see what’s been accomplished in the writing realm! I’m a bit of a list freak. I use Wunderlist (for Mac/iPhone) to keep track of long-term goals, and a diary to write down a list of what I’d like to do each day. Even if they’re small things–like get something in the mail–it helps a lot to cross them off or tick them electronically. And if one of those things is “edit/write 1 chapter” then even better 🙂

Leave a Reply

