Motivational Monday ~ Happiness Part 2

8 Oct

Be happy!

This is a follow up to a post I made a few weeks ago about choosing happiness. I was reading my Saturday morning paper and came across a commentary by Lisa Earle McLeod titled, “Don’t postpone happiness.” In it she writes:

Do you suffer from the “When…” syndrome? When I get a promotion, I’ll be happy. When I lose weight, I’ll start going to pool parties. When things calm down, I’ll learn to relax.

Or maybe you suffer from the “If’s…”

If we had more money I would be happier. If I were married (or single), I’d have a better social life…

We’ve all done it, putting our happiness on hold until some magical future date when the big thing that we want happens and we’ll give ourselves permission to be happy.

Oh, how I can relate to this commentary. I can’t even count the number of times I said, “I’ll be happy when…”

…I graduate from college.

…I have a better job.

…I have a nice car.

….I sell my first book.

…I sell a second book.

…I have a lot of money in the bank.

STOP! The only time we have is now. Be happy! Enjoy the journey.

Do you suffer from the “I’ll be happy when…” syndrome? You can read Lisa Earle McLeod’s full commentary here.  Give your self permission to be happy now. Everything else will come in time.

Cheers,

Alison Stone

8 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Happiness Part 2”

  1. Kristina Knight October 8, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    I love this, Alison! Sometimes I think giving ourselves permission to be happy is one of the hardest things in life…but once we do, things really do change. 🙂

  2. Rachel Kall October 8, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Great post, Alison. We need to seize the day! Life is too short.

  3. Caryn Caldwell October 9, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Fantastic reminder, and one I think most people need at some point! I do think I’ll be happy at a certain point, and then that point arrives and…there’s another point, further up the path, that will create happiness instead. You’re right; we have to embrace happiness now.

    • Alison Stone October 10, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      I agree. It’s easy to keep looking down the road and forget to enjoy the moment.

  4. Cheyenne Campbell October 10, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    I am so guilty of this. My husband read a quote recently that’s stuck with us: “Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy.” (Guillaume Apollinaire). It’s part of being human, I think, to always look for more, but I’m finally getting into the habit of checking myself with a reminder that right now is never going to happen again!

    • Alison Stone October 10, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Cheyenne,

      That’s a fantastic quote…”Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy.” (I retyped it to really try to remember that!)

      ~Alison

  5. valerierlawson October 11, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    loved this and cheyenne’s quote. thanks for the reminder.

    • Alison Stone October 15, 2012 at 5:32 am #

      Reminders are a great thing!

Leave a Reply

