Motivational Monday ~ Window to the Soul

1 Oct

My alma mater. Isn’t it a gorgeous building?

Yesterday I took my daughter to an open house at my alma mater. I’ve been back to the school a few times over the years for various functions. It’s a beautiful school with a long history. As we toured the building, from classroom to classroom, to the art room on the fourth floor, and the beautiful auditorium, I was drawn to the windows. The statute of the Sacred Heart outside the auditorium and the lockers lining the halls are etched in my memory, but so are the various views from my desk out the window. Don’t get me wrong, I was a good student. I took notes. I did well on tests. But I think I spent every other moment staring out the windows.

From one classroom with floor-to-ceiling windows I could see the front driveway. The heavy rain would sluice down the window and I’d hope my friend lined up a ride for us, otherwise I’d be walking the mile or so home.  Once from the top-floor art room, the snow fell fast in thick, wet snowflakes. All afternoon activities were cancelled that day. So much for bowling club. Shhh…don’t laugh.

To this day, I love a window view. For years I worked as an engineer in a manufacturing facility. It wasn’t until I emerged from the bowels of the plant floor that I’d get to see the sun shine or rain clouds. When I go on vacation, the moment I open the hotel or condo door, I run to the  window. Ocean view? Score! Before I made an offer on my current house, I sat in the family room and looked out the window. Park-like setting? I’m sold.

My senior portrait

When I sit down to write, it’s within view of a window. So I can daydream.

Today is the first day of October. I love autumn. I am determined to get a project to my agent this month. Less time staring out windows, I suppose. Do you have big plans this month? I’d love to hear about them.

Cheers,

Alison Stone

2 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Window to the Soul”

  1. Cheyenne Campbell October 1, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    Ah, memory lane! Has it changed much? I’ve been in my middle school in the past 4 years, but not been in my high school since I graduated. I’d love to see it now but I know it’s changed a lot. I might not recognise anything, but given how lousy 75% of my time there was, I don’t think I’d mind… Glad you have good memories!

    I’m doing work experience in October, but it’s not full time so hoping to finish edits on one story and make serious headway on my WIP. Have a productive and fun month!

    • Alison Stone October 1, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Good luck with work ~ both with writing and outside of writing. Here’s to a productive October!

Leave a Reply

