Motivational Monday ~ Choose Happiness

17 Sep

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about feelings, more specifically happiness. When our mind is focused on something, we tune into it. As a result, I’ve noticed a few tweets regarding the subject lately. One in particular jumped out at me:

Life is ten percent what happens to you and ninety percent how you respond to it.

The quote has been attributed to a few different people, but the message is clear. We have the power to REACT to a situation in the way WE choose. We shouldn’t let other people or circumstances dictate how we feel. Okay, I’ll concede that we are allowed to react strongly in the negative when we receive really bad news, but why let our moods shift with all the little minutia of life?

How many times have I started off my day in a really good mood and then someone tells me something or I see something on the news or I read something on Facebook and my mood plummets. Why? I am letting forces outside myself dictate how I feel. Most of the things that affect my mood aren’t going to matter in a day or two (or maybe even in an hour.) Once I became aware of this, I started to consciously train myself to not react negatively to the small stuff. Hey, I think someone wrote an entire book on that theme. 🙂

I’ve always been a thinker. From the time I was a little girl, I would over analyze everything. I have passed this trait onto my youngest. She always seems to struggle with the start of a new year. (She’d rather hang out at home with me.) After we said our prayers the other night, she started to tell me how her belly hurt in school. I explained to her that because she kept thinking about how much she didn’t like school, she was making her belly hurt. I told her she had the power to create happy thoughts and then her belly wouldn’t hurt. I gave her a few suggestions like how she should focus on how much she loves math and to just stay in the moment.

I’m not sure my advice will have immediate results with my eight-year-old, but it reinforced what I’ve been working on. I need to continue to be aware of my own thoughts and my own feelings. I don’t need to let things outside of my control dictate my mood. A dip in Amazon rankings shouldn’t make me want to quit writing. I shouldn’t get so frustrated when my day gets filled up with other responsibilities and eats up all my writing time. I shouldn’t allow other parents to draw me into the momma-drama. 🙂 I get to choose what’s important to me. I get to decide how I feel.

Here are some more awesome “HAPPINESS” quotes:

Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be ~ Abraham Lincoln

Nothing can bring you peace but yourself ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

There is only one way to happiness, and that is to cease worrying about things which are beyond the power of our will. ~ Epictetus

I much prefer to be around happy people. Since I am always around myself, I choose happiness.

Do you work on controlling your thoughts to control your feelings? I’d love to hear how it works for you.

Cheers,

Alison Stone

3 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Choose Happiness”

  1. thejoysofwriting September 17, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    This is such a great post! I totally agree and really needed to read this today. I also read someone else’s thoughts about how the media loves to make a mountain out of a mole hill because when they get us emotionally involved and all riled up, their ratings increase. It is a fantastic design, but not one we have to give up our happiness for. Hope you have a wonderful day!

    • Alison Stone September 17, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      Thanks, Tanya. I find that negative people suck the life force out of me. This post was a reminder (even for myself) to stay positive and realize I am in control of my thoughts and feelings.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Motivational Monday ~ Happiness Part 2 « Alison Stone - October 8, 2012

    […] is a follow up to a post I made a few weeks ago about choosing happiness. I was reading my Saturday morning paper and came across a commentary by Lisa Earle McLeod titled, […]

Leave a Reply

