Motivational Monday ~ First Day Back After Vacation

27 Aug

Last week I took a break from writing. I had family in from out of town and we spent a few days at the beach followed by my nephew’s christening. Now, it’s Monday and back to work. I often hear other writers say they jump back into writing after a break. I struggle to get back into something after taking time off. I believe it’s the whole “momentum thing.” Yet, I will force myself to start. Starting, I find, is the hardest part.

I like this quote by Steven King in his book On Writing:

Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy. Some of this book–perhaps too much–has been about how I learned to do it. Much of it has been about how you can do it better. The rest of it–and perhaps the best of it–is a permission slip: you can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will. Writing is magic, as much the water of life as any other creative art. The water is free. So drink.

Drink and be filled up.

If you’re a writer, do you find it difficult to get back to your project after a long break?

Be sure to stop by on Wednesday when I’ll have author Donna Alward as guest!

Cheers,

Alison Stone

 

 

2 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ First Day Back After Vacation”

  1. jesstopper August 28, 2012 at 3:49 am #

    Great post, Alison… and I love the King quote! This summer has been a busy and distracting one for me, yet I always have plots brewing in my head. So you can imagine my surprise when I went to click on my document and noticed the “last opened” date: 2 months prior! I was shocked to find I had been away from it that long. But perhaps it was time I needed to allow the story to marinate in my head before bubbling over onto the written page. Happy writing!

    • Alison Stone August 28, 2012 at 7:28 am #

      Happy back-to-school writing. Your summer seemed very exciting. I’m sure you did refill the well.

Leave a Reply

