Motivational Monday ~ Deliberate Choices

21 May

This morning I grabbed Marcia Wieder’s Making Your Dreams Come True from my book shelf. After flipping through a few pages I found this quote:

Live your dream by making deliberate choices rather than just responding to whatever life throws your way.

What is it that you want to do? Get rid of your limiting beliefs and make concrete choices that move you closer to your goal. I know a lot of writers who love to talk about writing, but never write. They claim their children are too  young, their parents are too old, the laundry isn’t going to do itself, the evil day job gets in the way, they are too tired, they have to watch Glee… I think you get the idea. And I’ve been guilty of making some of the same excuses.

If you have a dream, make deliberate choices to move toward making it happen.

The month of May, I have been participating in #WriteMotivation. I have written 7800 words toward my 20K goal. Looks like I need to take my own advice. 🙂

Have you used excuses to not follow your dreams? What is your primary excuse?

Cheers,

Alison Stone

5 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Deliberate Choices”

  1. stephanieberget May 21, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    What a timely post. I have used many of those excuses over the years. Concrete decisions. I’m posting that on my wall.

    • Alison Stone May 21, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Glad my post resonated with you today, Stephanie. My job is done. 🙂

  2. Rebekah Loper May 24, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Sometimes my family doesn’t understand why I don’t lay off the writing some when life is hard, but that quote sums it up exactly.

    If the things I hate about my life continually keep getting worse, and I always put aside the things I love, my dreams, for them, then what’s the point of living?

    Good luck with hitting your 20k! I’ve written 10k in a day before, so it can be done. Just be forewarned about the hand cramps 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Excuses Get You Nowhere « Todd's Perspective - May 23, 2012

    […] Motivational Monday ~ Deliberate Choices (alisonstone.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

