Monday Motivation ~ Week 2

14 May

Yesterday I was reading the Parade magazine that comes with the Sunday paper when I came across an interview with Charles Barkley.

Interviewer: You spend a lot of time meeting your fans.

Charles Barkley: It’s a privilege when people want to say hello to me. I’ve had an amazing life. I got paid to play basketball; now I’m getting paid to watch it. I should always be in a good mood!

His answer struck a cord with me. How many times have I complained about something I have to do instead of realizing what a blessing it is that I get to do it? I’m going to use that as my motivation this week.

I am participating in #WriteMotivation during the month of May. This week I wrote 2800 words making my monthly total 5244. I am shooting for 20,000 for the month.  Fellow #WriteMotivation writers, how are your goals going?

Cheers,

Alison Stone

Random Acts Available Now!

Buy Links: 

Amazon       B&N       Kobo       Sony       iTunes       Amazon/UK

6 Responses to “Monday Motivation ~ Week 2”

  1. Cheyenne Hill May 14, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Love this post. For about a year now I’ve been trying to write down 3 things in a journal every morning that I’m thankful for. Some days it’s as simple as “sun” if there is any out there, and while I may be in a miserable mood or focused on the things I want to complain about, it always ends up making me feel happier and more focused. Well done on your goals!! I’m pretty far behind, but hoping to make up for some of it over the next three days.

    • Alison Stone May 14, 2012 at 10:45 am #

      I think it’s easy to get caught up in thinking about all the bad stuff going on. I try to remember gratitude, too. Here’s to accomplishing our goals!

  2. thejoysofwriting May 14, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Since it’s Motivational Monday, I have to say I’ve always been motivated by my dad. He’s shown me that hard work and dedication will either get you where you want to go, or show you a new path. Since I started writing, I finally get the whole workaholic thing! When you’re doing what you love, it doesn’t feel like work (all the time). 🙂

    • Alison Stone May 15, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      That’s awesome that your dad was a positive influence. Mine was, too. I have a tribute to him on the homepage of my website. ❤ Dads

  3. valerierlawson May 16, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    great way to look at it. i mean, we get to be writers! that is the coolest thing ever! hopefully one day i’ll be paid for it, but i hope to always remember to never complain about it. great work on your goal. i’m making slow progress, but progress nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

