Motivational Monday ~ Week 1

7 May

Morning everyone

During the month of May I am participating in #WriteMotivation. We are a bunch of writers cheering each other on as we write our way through the month of May. Our goals are listed on K.T. Hanna’s site. We check in with each other on Twitter under the hastag #WriteMotivation and we post our progress on our blogs each Monday. It’s the perfect time for me to set big goals. My debut novel, Random Acts, was released at the end of April and I have finished reading the ARC for Too Close to Home, my August release. So here’s to new projects!

My goal for the month of May:  add 20,000 words to my work in progress

Update as of Monday, May 7th:  2413 new words. (12% of my goal) I better kick it into gear.

I have also decided to start the week with a little motivation:

“A happy person is not a person in a certain set of circumstances, but rather a person with a certain set of attitudes.” ~ Hugh Downs.

Have a great Monday!

Cheers,

Alison

P.S. I am on day 6 of my 10-day virtual book tour. Stop by and comment at any of the stops for a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card. If the winner is a Nook owner, I’d be happy to make it a Barnes & Noble gift card instead. Click here for all the up-t0-date stops.

Random Acts Available Now!

Buy Links: 

Amazon       B&N       Kobo       Sony       iTunes       Amazon/UK

12 Responses to “Motivational Monday ~ Week 1”

  1. Rhonda Parrish (@RhondaParrish) May 7, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I think #WriteMotivation sounds awesome. If you do it next year I may just join in — the fact it’s only weekly update posts and checking in on Twitter as your schedule allows seems like the perfect balance of accountability and writing time.

    ~ Rhonda Parrish

    • Jamie Dement (LadyJai) May 10, 2012 at 5:36 am #

      Rhonda, we are always on #writemotivation on Twitter for anyone who needs a kick in the pants…or some cookies! 😀 It’s all about the encouragement. And we only have goal checks every other month. So you are more than welcome to come join in! 😀

  2. valerierlawson May 7, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    great goals – and you made some progress. that’s not nothing. love the saying. 🙂

    • Alison Stone May 7, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

      Thanks, Valerie. I have a lot of self-hope and motivational books that I purchased when I needed “that boost” to start writing. I think I’ll do a little saying each Monday.

  3. stephanieberget May 7, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Alison, no wonder you just put writing as your goal. That’s a good one, and you’ve made a great start.

    • Alison Stone May 7, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks, Stephanie. I should reach my goal as long as I don’t get lost on the internet. 🙂

  4. Melisse Aires May 8, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    You have a great goal and have made good progress toward it! Keep up the great writing!

  5. Rebekah Loper May 9, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    12% so far is not bad! Me – I have zero. Nada.

    I need to get cracking on mine, lol.

    • Alison Stone May 9, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      There is still a lot of May left. Get cracking! 🙂

  6. Jamie Dement (LadyJai) May 10, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    Always remember my 1st draft golden rule! 0ne word is PROGRESSION. Zero words is STAGNATION. And deleting words is REGRESSION. So, even if you don’t make the 20k, you’ve already knocked it out of the ball park with 2k words! 😀

Leave a Reply

