Listening to “Books on Tape”

17 Apr

Anyone else like to listen to books on tape? (I suppose tape isn’t exactly the right word.) Anyone else like to listen to books on their ipod? About a year ago I subscribed to Audible.com and found I was more committed to exercising on my treadmill in my dreary basement if I could get lost in a good book. Now that the weather is getting nicer, I continue to listen to books while I power walk around the neighborhood. (I don’t really power walk. I’m much to self conscious. I just walk at a brisk pace. 🙂 )

Anyway, as much as I enjoy listening to books, I find it is truly a different experience from reading a book. For one, you can’t quickly flip back if you miss a detail. You really have to stay present in the story. Walking is a great activity for listening to books…so is housework. But, I can’t multitask with many other activities because I have to focus on the story. The narrator’s voice can also be distracting. I couldn’t finish one non-fiction book because the author’s voice grated on my nerves. Maybe it was just me.

If you subscribe to Audible, keep track of your tokens. They can add up quickly and expire if you don’t use them within a  certain time frame. I actually ended my subscription and still have a backlog of books to read. Some of my favorite “books on tape” include:

  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett : Narration was fantastic. I felt like I was sitting by an old time radio before TV was invented listening to a wonderful story.
  • Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosney: Just enough French accent without distracting from this powerful story.
  • Late, Late at Night by Rick Springfield: Okay, don’t judge. I was a huge RS fan from the time of Jesse’s Girl. RS narrates the story and it was interesting to learn how he was successful despite his demons.
  • Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson: I am currently listening to this audible book. I figure I’m bound to get some serious mileage out of this one. I heard the actress Kristen Bell (of Veronica Mars fame) mention she and her boyfriend were listening to this on a road trip and still hadn’t finished it. She said it took some serious commitment. Her words keep running through my head as I go yet into another hour of Steve Jobs’s story. I have to admit, his contribution to technology has changed the world. The one takeaway so far: confidence in your abilities can go a long way toward success. (Maybe that will be the topic of a future blog.)
Anyway, one of my favorite parts of the day, is to hook on my ipod and go for a walk. My current model (in the photo) is one of the original ipods. I call it the boombox of ipods. 🙂 But it still works as long as I remember to put it on the charging dock each night.

Do you like listening to books? Do you find it to be a much different experience than reading  a book? Do you have any audible books you’d recommend? I’d love to hear from you.

~Alison

4 Responses to “Listening to “Books on Tape””

  1. Candace Shaw April 17, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    I’ll have to check Audible out. I can honestly admit I’ve never listened to an audiobook well except in elementary school. However, it does seem like something I need to look into especially since my treadmill is also in the dreary basement and I hate going down there if hubby isn’t home.

    • Alison Stone April 17, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      It’s also great to listen to a book while cleaning the house ~ another dreary activity!

  2. stephanieberget April 17, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    Alison, I not only listen to my Ipod when I exercise, I bought a transmitter that plugs into my lighter in my car and broadcasts through the car speakers. I can listen to a book while I drive. Love them. I’m listening to Susan Mallery now.

    • Alison Stone April 17, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      That’s a great idea, Stephanie. I often forget my new car actually has a jack for just that. My teenager pointed it out to me. Duh! 🙂

Leave a Reply

