Thankful Thursday ~ Week 1

5 Apr

Thankful Thursday is nothing new. Many people across the internet participate. I thought it was time I join in, after all,  there can never be enough gratitude in this world. I remember when I was in elementary school, a nun told our class the most simple prayer you can ever say is, “Thank You.” The message stuck with me.

Today I am thankful for

  • Early blossoms. The trees in my neighborhood are beautiful especially in the early morning when the sun streams through the dew-covered blossoms
  • Smiley little girls. My young daughter marched into my room this morning with a huge smile as she modeled her brand-new-to-her jeans. This is a huge deal. This is the same daughter who doesn’t like seams on her socks. She loves her new jeans!
  • Staff Sgt. William R. Wilson III.  Staff Sgt. “Billy” Wilson gave his life for our country on March 26, 2012 in Afghanistan. May he rest in peace. I am so grateful for men and women like Staff Sgt. Wilson who bravely serve our country. I didn’t know him, but he grew up in my community and graduated from my son’s high school. He touched many lives as reflected by the hundreds  of flags lining the streets of his hometown.  Praying for peace and comfort for his family.

What are you grateful for? I’d love to hear from you.

Alison Stone

Random Acts available April 24

Website:  www.AlisonStone.com

Twitter: @Alison_Stone

Facebook: AlisonStoneAuthor

4 Responses to “Thankful Thursday ~ Week 1”

  1. jesstopper April 6, 2012 at 3:52 am #

    What a beautiful post, Alison – so simply stated. We do need to stop and give thanks for the small and large wonders around us. I had been seeing the flags around town, both the small ones on lawns and the big ones at half-mast, but I didn’t know the story behind it.

    • Alison Stone April 6, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you, Jessica. The flags bring tears to my eyes.

  2. Karen Doherty April 12, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    “new to her jeans!” from anyone I know?

    • Alison Stone April 12, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

      Actually the jeans were from another friend, but the little one has “made” some of the clothes from your girls fits. She loves a teal tank that is much too big. She uses a rubber band to pull it together in the back. I let her wear it to school that way. My girls are definitely girly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

