Turn off the *Bleeping* Headlights

29 Feb

 

The other day, I came to a stop at a red light. My eye was drawn to a hand with a cigarette dangling out of the window. I suppose it caught my attention because it was really cold out.   Anyway, my gaze then shifted to a white strip on the dash behind the steering wheel. After blinking a few times, the words came into focus: Turn off the *bleeping* headlights.

Since this is a G-rated blog, I’ll leave the choice word to your imagination. The light turned green and we were both on our way, but I couldn’t stop thinking about the note. I mean, it wasn’t slapped up hastily on a yellow Post-it note. It was printed with a label makers. A label maker! I could almost see the woman, fury in her red cheeks, as she squeezed out each letter. (Do people still have to squeeze out letters on label makers?) Now, that takes serious effort.

My mind continued to process the note.  Doesn’t the Toyota Yaris have automatic lights? When was the last time I ever had to actually turn my vehicle’s headlights on–or *bleeping* off?  Then I wondered who the message was for and why. Had she allowed her daughter to borrow the car and the next morning, when the driver left for work, the battery was dead? Really annoyed–instead of calling AAA–had she whipped out her label maker determined this would never happen again?

Doesn’t she realize this note is visible to everyone passing by? Does she care? Did my daughter see it?

Then I wondered if the note was for meant for the driver? Had her husband left it? I hope not. Or maybe she left it for herself as a gentle reminder to turn out the lights. Nah, seems kind of drastic.

Hmm? I don’t know. But it got me thinking. Maybe I’ll work it into a story someday.

Have you ever shook your head at something wishing you knew why? Or is it the curse of a writer?

Leave a Reply

