More than words…and wilted flowers

15 Feb

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day.  I’ve never been partial to gifts like chocolates or flowers. Maybe it stems from my high school days when on Valentine’s Day flowers would be delivered to the school and the names of the recipients would be announced at lunch. Bummer for all the girls who never got a flower.  I’m not naming names or anything. 🙂

To this day, I prefer more practical gifts.

  • Nothing makes me feel the love more than when my hubby fills up the gas tank.  Ah, another couple hundred miles before I have to stand in the freezing cold, hair whipping around my head, while I watch the numbers climb higher…and higher.
  • Dinner. No, I’m not talking about a fancy dinner out. I’m talking about dinner at home. Any dinner. It could be fish sticks and corn or steak on the grill. Any day I don’t have to think about and prepare dinner is a day I feel the love.
  • I love when my hubby volunteers to pick up one of the kids when I was supposed to do it. I might be huddled under a blanket reading a book or writing, but there’s nothing sweeter than my hubby saying, “You stay home, I’ll get them.” Ah….
  • My favorite gifts from my kids are handwritten notes and drawings telling me how much they love me. I am going to save them and pull them out when they are teens and remind them that yes, I was once “The World’s Best Mother.”

So, are you a flowers and chocolate kind of person? Or do you like more practical gifts? Either way, I hope everyone felt loved on Valentine’s Day.

12 Responses to “More than words…and wilted flowers”

  1. Natasha Moore February 15, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    Great post. My hubby had CPR training class last night. No time for dinner out. We grabbed a pizza & ate it at home before he had to leave. Time together in this busy life – that’s what I like 🙂

    • Alison Stone February 15, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      I agree. It doesn’t require much, right?

      • Helen February 15, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

        great post Alison. Husbands who help without being asked are the best.

      • Alison Stone February 16, 2012 at 6:46 am #

        Thanks, Helen. 🙂

  2. jesstopper February 16, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    What a lovely post – it really is the little things. They speak volumes! I remember opening the fridge soon after moving in with my boyfriend-now-husband and finding my favorite M&Ms (peanutbutter) waiting for me. That’s when I knew it was a love like no other!

    • Alison Stone February 16, 2012 at 6:33 am #

      Peanutbutter M&Ms, huh? Yum. Sounds like your husband is a keeper.

  3. Sandra Orchard February 16, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Ooh, I definitely favor the practical. My sweet hubby makes me lunch almost every day. I know I’m spoiled. When he does the dishes, too! It’s the best!!

  4. Candace Shaw February 16, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    How sweet. I told hubby please don’t buy me any flowers. While they are beautiful, they will eventually die. Instead, he gives me gift cards to my fav. stores and candy. I must have my chocolate turtles.

  5. thejoysofwriting March 8, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    My husband and I try to do little things that help each other out. I make his lunch and tea every morning (at 5:30am), and he keeps my car running right. While he’s difficult to buy for, he knows the key to my heart is a Barnes & Noble card! But, uh, that was before he bought me a 1965 Mustang (red) this past Valentines Day!!! I’ve been wanting one since I was in high school! Awesome! I don’t know how to top that.

    • Alison Stone March 9, 2012 at 7:15 am #

      Sounds like an awesome relationship. I hope you’ve been enjoying that new car!

Leave a Reply

