Sweet Sixteen

15 Jan

Today my “little man” turns sixteen. It’s really hard to imagine. I remember turning sixteen. I still have the Sweet Sixteen charm my parents gave me, but I think I’ll save it for one of my daughters. Sixteen is one of those birthday milestones. Soon, he’ll be asking for the keys to my car. And in a blink of an eye, he’ll be headed off to college.

When I first brought my little man home, I thought I’d never sleep again.And I love sleep. I thought the days of watching him–and later his siblings–play in the yard would fill my days forever. One by one, they got older, headed off to school, and no longer needed me to supervisor their play. Soon time became my own again. Time I now use to write.

Sometimes I look back at the photos of my lovable little son and wonder if I took enough time to simply enjoy the moment. It’s very easy to get swept up in the day-to-day activities of being a mom. But overall, yes, I do believe I cherished many of the moments ~ as fleeting as they were. I can recall many of them with clarity. Others I recorded in a journal. Kids say the darndest things, right? Every so often I pull out the journal and read entries to my kids. The day–the exact moment–they said something, comes floating back. I can see him in his feet PJs asking me if I meant to give him WARM medicine for his cough. (Certainly I wouldn’t intend to give him COLD medicine.)  I can see my little man sitting at Olive Garden, olives tipping each of his fingers before he popped them into his mouth.

Sometimes I just look at my sixteen year old and wonder where the time went. When did he get taller than me? When did he start to shave? I am so grateful that we are all happy and healthy and here to celebrate another birthday. Happy Sweet Sixteen. May you have many, many more.

I love this photo of my little man ~ back when he let me dress him.

Image

4 Responses to “Sweet Sixteen”

  1. Gwen Hernandez January 15, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Wow, Alison. Happy birthday to your son! Mine just turned 15 and I’m feeling the same way about it. Less than three years until he graduates and suddenly that seems really soon.

    Love the photo–so cute! 🙂

    • Alison Stone January 16, 2012 at 5:34 am #

      I know it’s cliche, but time really does fly. I can still see the little guy who was so excited to start preschool. But on the first day, he turned to me and said, “Mom, I changed my mind. I don’t want to stay.” Now he’s in 10th grade. Wow is right. 🙂

  2. jesstopper January 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Aw, in the blink of an eye! Everyone says that first year flies by, but they all seem to. Enjoy…

Leave a Reply

